Book Online

If the fantasy of traveling back in time and experiencing royal grandeur of the erstwhile rulers of olden time India interests and intrigues you, then the luxury trains of India might be a wonderful way to explore India. There are a total of seven luxury trains in India – namely Maharajas’ Express, Palace on Wheels, The Deccan Odyssey, Golden Chariot, Royal Rajasthan on Wheels, Royal Orient Train, and Fairy Queen Express. Each of these trains has their own itineraries and cover different routes across India.

These elite luxury trains cater to tourists who want to explore the rich cultural heritage of India and beautiful landscapes travelling in the lap of luxury, while awaking every morning to a new destination. Their grandeur is evident from the intricately detailed interiors, majestic ambience, grand dining rooms and bars, fabulous sleeping chambers, lavish gastronomical fare, and stringent security arrangements to ensure your safety while you are on the move, literally! This experiential tour promises an opportunity to witness the splendor and opulence of India while relishing the best hospitality on some of the world’s leading luxury trains.

Maharaja Express

This train is one of the five most luxurious trains in the world! It has various itineraries from 4-days to 8-days to suit every need. It operates from October to April. Some common experiences in all the itineraries covered by the Maharaja Express are a visit to one of the seven wonders of the world, Taj Mahal, a jungle safari at the Ranthambhore tiger reserve and a ride on colorfully decorated elephants in Jaipur. All the cabins & public areas have large panoramic windows & the train is so designed to savor every bit of India.

Royal Rajasthan On Wheels

This train has fourteen luxury cabins modelled on erstwhile royal palaces, multi-cuisine restaurants, bars and spa services all on board. It does a seven nights itinerary starting from Delhi and covering famous sights in Jodhpur, Udaipur, Chittorgarh, Sawai Madhopur, Jaipur, Khajuraho, Varanasi, Agra and finally back to Delhi. It operates from October to March. The plush interiors of Royal Rajasthan on Wheels reflect the past glory of Indian maharajas.

An Aryuvedic Spa is also part of the train.

Palace On Wheels

The Palace on wheels has been voted as the fourth most luxurious train in the world with its luxurious cabins, exquisite wallpapers, a well-stocked bar, gracious hospitality and local culture displayed by artistic use of paintings and handicrafts, giving the true feeling of a palace on wheels thereby recreating the bygone era of kings and their royal palaces! If you are planning a luxurious trip to Rajasthan to cover the royal land of sand dunes and regal palaces, this is your perfect chance to relive the era when kings and queens ruled, when royalty spelt magic and charm and mysticism was in the air! Operating between September to April, this 7-nights itinerary starts in Delhi covering Jaipur, Sawai Madhopur, Chittorgarh, Udaipur, Jaisalmer, Jodhpur, Bharatpur, Agra and finally back to Delhi.

The Deccan Odyssey

The Deccan Odyssey has six different routes covering various parts of mainly western India. Each itinerary runs for 8 days. Inspired by the traveling style of the kings and rulers during different royal eras of ancient India, Deccan Odyssey is a 5-star treat for passengers with its palace-like interiors of the cabins, multi-cuisine restaurants, lounges, a conference car, an onboard spa and other state-of-the-art amenities. The Deccan Odyssey starts in Mumbai and has different schedules, some covering other parts of Maharashtra like the Ajanta and Ellora Caves in Aurangabad and some itineraries that cover the hidden treasures of Gujarat like Vadodara, Palitana, Gir forest and Somnath temples.

Golden Chariot

The Golden Chariot focuses on South India and is well known for its impeccable hospitality. The train has AC chambers with royal interiors, bars, restaurants serving multi-variety cuisines, a mini gym and an ayurveda spa. Operating between October to March, there are two different itineraries both being seven nights. The first starts in Bangalore and covers Karnataka and Goa. The second also starts in Bangalore and touches Tamil Nadu, Pondicherry and Kerala as well before returning to Bangalore.

Royal Orient Train

This train runs all year round and has a 7-night itinerary. Embark on a royal journey and enjoy a delightful experience of absolute chivalry and unimaginable opulence. This train starts in Delhi and covers Chittorgarh, Udaipur, Junagadh, Veraval, Sasan Gir, Dilwara, Palitana, Sarkhej, Ahmedabad and Jaipur.

Fairy Queen Express

The Fairy Queen Express is one of the oldest trains providing luxury train journeys in India. Powered by the oldest serving steam locomotive built in around 1855, Fairy Queen has its own charm as it rambles through from Delhi to Alwar and Sariska in Rajasthan. Running from October to March only on the 2nd and 4th Saturdays of the month, this train does 2-day itineraries making it ideal for those looking for a weekend getaway.